Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

take a chill pill now n then!  

• 0/5

Author12 Posts

hi all of u out there!
i took step 1 on may 6 this year n learnt a key to success! they test more of your confidence than your knowledge trust me.if u know how to contain yourself u can easily do well.i got the majority of qs from biochem n micro n patho.i studied for 3 months for this exam, no more than 4 hours a day (mostly less :wink: ).i did a hell lot of questions n many of those from kaplan n q book appeared word by word on the exam!!!! one more word of advice: plz do not do more than one book for one subject, it makes concentration n revision difficult.the books i did were:
patho_kaplan (2 readings but leaving out all those chapters on nervous system n skin n FGT, MGT!)
physio_kaplan (2 readings except endo n GIT)
immuno_kaplan (3 readings.....very thourough)
micro_kaplan n MRS (2 readings but no parasito at all n neither of the last 3 chapters of kaplan)
biochem_kaplan (2n a half readings)
genetics_lippincott biochem n kaplan (2 n a half readings)
gross, neuro n embyo (hi yields 1 reading)
pharma_kaplan(1 reading)
behavioural science_hi yield, BRS n kaplan (2 readings)
biostatistics_hi-yield,appleton n lange & kaplan (2 readings)
i read first aid very thouroughly although n it helped me a lot.i also jotted down the formulae for every subject in the last page of my notebook n revised them in the end.