Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

On J1 changing jobs, time gap inbetween?  

• 0/5

Author7 Posts

Hi,

The problem I have is connected to changing jobs. I'm on J1 research visa currently (without 2 yr requirement) that's valid till end of 2008. I work as a Medical Doctor in hospital A and found another job at hospital B which starts on July 1st 2008and ends on June 30th 2009.

I am worried about the transfer. How fast is it and can I have some time of my own between changing the jobs, or do I have to switch from job A to B directly? Could my transfer in some way be jeopardized and what should I pay attention to while talking to hospital B? What should I request from them, is there something that I'd have to emphasize when I talk to them (here I'm specially thinking of this 2 year requirement that I am not subject to)

Would it be smart to request from the Hospital B to file for H1 for me if they are able and willing to?
Thanks!
crazyserb

Check ECFMG for the most up to date information about a gap between J1 visas.

ECFMG would have the most current and correct information. I realize it's a PITA to call them, but would be worth being on hold for hours....

bbb wrote:
Check ECFMG for the most up to date information about a gap between J1 visas.

ECFMG would have the most current and correct information. I realize it's a PITA to call them, but would be worth being on hold for hours....

Oh boy! I keep getting this message when I try to go to ECFMG:

ecfmg.org expired on 03/02/2008 and is pending renewal or deletion

what does that mean!?

Maybe they are having server problems???