Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

Visa answers from a different forum  

• 0/5

Author76 Posts

I dont know if I got this corrrectly bbb...but it seemed to me that , the 1st post of this forum you said it was better to be on a J1 visa if our plans were to subspecialize (meaning, in my understanding, doing a fellowship) because most fellowship programs did not sponsor H1b visas....am I right?....so Is it going to work against me if I pass step 3 and get a H1b visa, do my path residency in 3 years and then want to do a fellowship??? Would I be in better position if I get a J1 and complete my residency and fellowship while on a J1 and then get a H1b when/if I get a job after that???....

im havenĀ“t even passed the CS and I will apply until match 2007...but I just read the post and got me to think.....thnx a lot for your time..greetings from Mexico!

Dear Dr. BBB,

I am currently a 3rd year student at Columbia's MSIH (Medical School for International Health) program. It is based out of Israel with most of our clinical electives taking place at Columbia (in addition to a 2 month overseas externship). To complicate matters further, I am a Canadian citizen. I have read the thread about H1-b visas but still have some questions for you if I may. I understand that completeing all the USMLE steps is required; however, it seems as if some States require you to have "Graduate Medical Education" prior to taking Step 3. MA is one of those states - and Boston is where I am hoping to do my residency training. Comparatively, NY does not require any GME in order to take step 3. If I am set on Boston, how can I be an intern/resident for a year before taking Step 3 and applying for the H1-b? Is there some temporary work visa that can be later switched to the H1-b? And if so, is this conventional? I was always under the impression that I would have to take a year off after med school to deal with the timing issues of E