Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

CLUB 99  

• 0/5

Author13 Posts

hey hi ,
this thread can be used to post ur score and prep details by those who scored 99 percentile.
this will help those vying for a 99
nod

hi tompat.good thread. i am a newbie here. can you explain what does the score of 99 percentile mean? does that mean that i will stand ahead of every 99th student who take exam. or does that mean that out of 100 people i am likely to score more than what 98 score.
thank in advance.

For the last time a 99 score is not 99 percentile of any kind. If you ever could answer 99% of the questions correctly your score would be somewhere above 285

For a 2 digit 3 digit score debate refer to:

https://www.prep4usmle.com/forum/thread/32973

For BigTime experiences (99 and others) refer to:

https://www.prep4usmle.com/forum/thread/58791

Perhaps I can clarify. A score of 99 on the two-digit scale DOES NOT mean 99th percentile; 99th percentile would indicate that you scored better than 99% of test takers. First of all, you cannot use the two-digit score to get a percentile; to get your percentile, you must calculate it by using your three-digit score, as it comes with a mean, and a standard deviation. From what I've seen in the recent posts, a score of 236 or above would give you a 99. No way would a 236 give you 99th percentile with a mean of 213 and a standard deviation of 23. Get the point?

So once and for all, those of you who think a 99 is 99th percentile, IT IS NOT, it's just a stupid number that some schools use in their admissions process rather than the three digit score.

I'm no expert in the topic, but that's my understanding.

And not to be rude with Tompat (truly), this thread is silly, but hey, it's a free world.

I agree with rhmtascp.Its real silly.I call it score discrimination.but as you said its a free world.No offense to tompat though.