Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

USMLE Expectations during CS  

• 0/5

Author12 Posts

Hi Guys,

Well, after failing CS in first attempt and seeing my Match 2008 go away I started wondering a lot of questions. I am a trained Ob/Gyn and as an intern I had weekly ER 24h-wards.

My biggest concern with this test was CIS, where I did pretty good, but to my surprise I FAILED IN ICE.

So the question arises logically... WHAT DID I NOT DO THAT USMLE EXPECTED ME TO DO?

In reviewing in my mind that day, I think the big mistake was that, maybe, I reacted as a doctor, and took care of the patients just like I would do in a real setting. For example, a clear case of intracraneal bleeding, with the full symptomatology favoring a SAH, after turning the lights off, I collected basic PMH, checked for papilledema and orientation, and then ended up the encounter telling her that we would do a CT scan STAT to start treatment ASAP.

Now, WHAT IS USMLE EXPECTING of such a neuro case? Was I supposed to do a FULL NEURO PE? like a medical student?

I have a few more examples (in which you could easily arrive to 2 o 3 DD in the first 5 minutes), in which I think my mistake was to believe they were testing my clinical skills in the wrong way... maybe they just wanted me to show that I know all the PE's, and know all the mnemos to collect data... NO SO MUCH THAT I KNOW HOW TO PROCEED in a case like of SAH.

So, what are we suppose to do?

PERFORM PE IN ALL PATIENTS REGARDLESS OF THE ACUITY/SERIOUSNESS of their illness/complaint?

Is it that?

I can't simply imagine telling a patient with a SAH, "I need to perform a neuro PE Mrs., would you please sit up for me?", "can you close your eyes?", etc, etc...

Guys, what do you think? what is your feeling regarding this?

Thank you all.

Guys, no one has any single idea to share about this?