Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

Passed CS. Experience  

• 0/5

Author5 Posts

Hi Guys,
I'd like to post my experience hopefully from the beginning to to the end.
I took Ck in February 2007 and short after receiving the results I started studying for CS but let me tell you it was really difficult for me to understand what the exam is about and I start falling asleep every time I touch the FA. I was wondering if I'll ever be able to make it but I knew that I should make it.So I went with the rhythm of 1 or 2 pages/day ( it's true). I had the opportunity to attend a Kaplan free event and that's where everything begun. I saw a sample of Patient encounter and I also met a study partner and we set up an appointment and start practicing one or twice a week. Iw as impressed to see how my skills improved just by practicing. At night I used to practice 2 or 3 cases with my wife who's a MD too but now involved in a MPH program. I did all the cases from FA and I also had a subscription from UW. They helped me a lot.
I had my exam in Philadelphia I drove to Philly the day before and I arrived to my hotel by 6:00 pm. It was expenive compared to the service offered but i also understood that it was difficult to find a cheaper one since I wanted to be a few miles away from the center. I took a tour of the center by 7:00 pm and believe me that was really helpful cause it's not easy to find a suitable parking lot around the center (down town Philly)So I left my car in the parking lot of the Hotel ( for $ 18 +5) and I left my luggage at the hotel. At least I had peace of mind.
I called a cab and I reached the center at 7:55 am almost everybody has already registered by the time I arrived anyway I wasn't late...
(I forgot I was nicely dressed no doubt about it. I took pictures I can prove it nod grin.
After the orientation The time was coming and...