Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

Good Friday....gets better!  

• 0/5

Author7 Posts

Hi everyone. Im starting my USMLE Step 1 preparation and journal today. Im a Psych junior doctor in England and recently been hit by the prospect that I might be unemployed after 3 months! hence, the USMLE! Ive decided that I will apply for the 98Match, which means I should sit my Step1 by June this year. That gives me a good 2 months for Step 1. Not ideal I know, but then life doesnt always present ideal situations as well. Im working full time and would need to take out 6 hours plus from usual working days for this......weekends wuld be a bonus!

I will be posting pretty often as an inspiration to others and myself alike, so that those who are in self doubt, may derive confidence and get better scores in the exam.

By the way, its been more than 10 yrs since I graduated and in the mean time I deviated away from medicine as well. So if I can do it and aim for a good score (90+)....Im sure we all can. Dont lose hope everyone!! Here goes......

Strategy: Kaplan videos for Physio, Biochem and Micro. Kaplan notes for everything else. Goljan notes (500pages) for Path and FA. Should run through Physio and Path in the next 10 days, integrate with FA and begin UW side by side. Will it work?....your guess is as good as mine.

Looking forward to your support and advice.

good plan zeleo - rather an ideal plan - but 2 mths.............seriously, u have to put your life on hold if u want to accomplish your goals in that much time. i'm working full-time too (i'm in the U.S.) and trust me, its been quite a ride trying to work and study, but then, that's just me!!! each person is different - i wish u all the best. if u manage to take this exam in 2 mths, that'll be a big motivational factor for slow-coaches like myself.