Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

Don't panic, don't relax. Focus!  

• 0/5

Author22 Posts

This forum helped me a lot and now it is the time to reciprocate. I am an IMG graduated 5 years ago and 3 months ago I decided that I'd get my ECFMG Certification. The reason: I was offered a clinical fellowship upon successful completion of the steps by next June. I gave it a shot, although most people insisted that it would not be possible. In 15 days I prepared and gave the Step 2 CS (which seemed to me to be the easiest, although this is not true for every IMG, it depends on his/her fluency in English, performance under pressure, etc).
Five weeks later, I gave the Step 2 CK (last Feb-26) and I just got my score: 97/241. No big deal, one can say, but an excellent cost-benefit in my humble point of view. To be honest, I studied hard (4 hours on average) for 2 weeks and harder (6-8 hours) for 1 week (I had this week off, exclusively devoted to my last minute study). I used only First Aid and USMLE World. I subscribed Kaplan Q bank, but I didn't have time to go in depth. Believe me: Do not waste your money nor your time with Q bank, UW is by far the best. I used around 40-50% of the UW questions, with an average score of 70% (in the beginning, my scores would be in the range of 50-60%). If you stick with FA and UW, alone but knowing that by heart, you can definitely score 99.