Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

Bacteriophage  

• 0/5

Author2 Posts

I have a question for you bright biologists out there.

I am quite impressed by bacteriophage and its purpose; however, after reading about bacteriophage for over half a day, I was unable to find the answer to one question:

How's is it that bacteriophage locate the host cell?. Now, I understand that to enter the host cell, the phage's attach their receptiors to the surface of the host. But how's the Bacteriophage able to locate the bacteria in the first place? -I am guessing the bacteria release impulses which attract the phage's but I am fairly new to the study of biology so I may be wrong.

Anyways, I tried google and wikipedia but no explaination as to how the bacteriophage locate the host cell.

Thanks in advanced.

secret wrote:
I have a question for you bright biologists out there.

I am quite impressed by bacteriophage and its purpose; however, after reading about bacteriophage for over half a day, I was unable to find the answer to one question:

How's is it that bacteriophage locate the host cell?. Now, I understand that to enter the host cell, the phage's attach their receptiors to the surface of the host. But how's the Bacteriophage able to locate the bacteria in the first place? -I am guessing the bacteria release impulses which attract the phage's but I am fairly new to the study of biology so I may be wrong.

Anyways, I tried google and wikipedia but no explaination as to how the bacteriophage locate the host cell.

Thanks in advanced.

Secret,