Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

CS EXAM EXPERIENCE  

• 0/5

Author8 Posts

HI

I HAVE BEEN A SILENT OBSERVER FOR LAST COUPLE OF WEEKS AND HERE IS MY EXAM EXPERIENCE.

I TOOK MY EXAM ON AUGUST 19, 2006 AT HOUSTON. I STUDIED 4 WEEKS. 4-5 HOURS PER DAY (MON-FRI) AND WEEKENDS 6-8 HOURS PER DAY. I USED UW AS THE MAIN STUDY MATERIAL. FA I USED FOR DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS ONLY.

WE WERE TWO FRIENDS TAKING EXAM ON THE SAME DATE AND SAME CENTER. FIRST WE PRACTICED THE CASES AND SECOND TIME WE FULLY SIMULATED THE CASES COMPLETELY. IT HAS HELPED ALOT IN THE REAL EXAM. THE MINIMUM WE PRACTICED WAS PE AND PN. WHICH WAS A MISTAKE.

HERE ARE SOME TIPS WHICH YOU FIND HELPFUL.

1) CS EXAM IS VERY BASIC AND GENERALIZED. UW IS AN EXCELLENT AND COMPLETE SOURCE. STICK WITH IT.

2) FA IS OK BUT IT IS FAR MORE DETAILED THEN NEEDED. I FOUND IT JUST COMPLICATES YOUR PREP. PROBABLY JUST READ THE DDX.

3) SIMULATION OF PATIENTS IS VERY HELPFUL. A KEY TO SUCESS. TRY TO SIMULATE. AT LEAST FEW CASES LIKE ABD PAIN, CHECT PAIN, CVA, DM, HTN, CHILD CASES, MUSCULOSKELETAL CASES. THAT WILL BE VERY HELPFUL.

PRACTICE YOUR PN. FIRST WRITE NORMAL WRTTING PATTREN OF EACH SYSTEM LATER ABN FINDINGS. WE HAVE PRACTICED BY WRITTING 6-8 PN AND I FOUND IT WAS NOT SUFFCINET IN THAT HIGH PRESURE ENVIRONMENT OF EXAM.

PRACTICE PE WITH COMPLETE CASE SIMULATION. BECAUSE IT IS ALSO EVALAUTED HOW YOU DO IT AND HOW ORGANIZED YOU R. IF YOU PRACTICE IT. YOU WILL BE ORGANIZE QUICK AND FAST. REMEMBER ITS A TIMED ENVIRONMENT

4) I WATCHED DIFFERNET PE VIDEOS AND TOOK THE EASIEST AND FASTEST WAYS TO PERFORM PE FROM ALL THESES VIDEOS. SO I WAS ABLE TO DO WHOLE CNS EXAM IN 3-5 MINUTES.

5) WE MADE A PROFORMA OR SOME OPEN ENDED QUESTIONS WHERE WE ASK LESS QUESTION BUT PT IS FORCED TO GIVE US INFORMATION LIKE

IF THERE IS ANY SIMILAR OR OTHER DISEASE IN THE FAMILY.

HAVE U EVER HAD ANY ALLERGIES

TELL ME ABOUT YOUR HEALTH IN GENERAL SO FAR