Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

Passed-My CS experience!  

• 0/5

Author5 Posts

Hi there folks,im an IMG from India and gave my CS on Aug 5 in Houston.I have to admit my clinical skills from India werent that great as im a recent graduate and didnt keenly interact with patients during my rotations too.With that background let me move on to my prep for CS..i took exactly 3 weeks and devoted 3-4hrs a day on an average during this time.All of my prep was based on usmleworld.com and after an initial reading of the entire material which i printed out, i put up a post on the usmlebuddies.com looking for a fone partner to discuss with and over the subsequent few days was able to find "Deepa."Thus we started taking turns being doc n patient over the fone[i was using skype to call her for free ] for 2 hrs a day for almost 10-15 days. We made sure we simulated the real exam to the extent of even making the " knock..knock" sound at the start of each encounter...even though i postponed the physical examamination part to the end i made sure i watched all the videos carefully towards the end..replayed them on my mind n practiced only once on my wife jus the evening before the exam. Eventhough i could see that i missed out on several things during the mock physical exam my wife felt i was doing fine jus like a real doc...but that wasnt as reassuring coz i could see that i needed to do more...also,jus days or rather a day or 2 before the exam i realised that i didnt cover the patient notes at all..so started memorising the statements for each system..again from only the usmleworld...i kind of felt that it might be good to postpone to fill in the gaps in Physical exam and the patient note but then i was too reluctant to do it as my experience of postponing the exam on step1 didnt yield a good result.So i decided to go ahead...me n my wife drove frm Little Rock,Arkansas to houston for over 6hrs the day before th