Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

My Match Experience & my Anxiety  

• 0/5

Author9 Posts

Hi,
I want to share my match experience and my anxiety with all of you. I graduated from an average medical school in 2000 where I was a totally average student and pretty much careless type. In late 2000 my whole family migrated to USA and I ended up in America not by choice but by destiny. I had no ambition to become a doctor in America or if I tell the truth, I did not think I was good enough. During my rotations in medical school as a student, I did not find them comprehensive enough to give me confidence to work as a stand alone physician. After spending 4 yrs doing odd jobs (as pharmacy technician), I realized I want more money My financial situation is such that I have to make more money in the coming years and that was the only motivating factor that drove me towards USMLE. This may sound shallow but this is a fact.

. So I started studying for USMLE and passed both steps with scores in mid 80’s first attempt. I had no USCE, no US LOR and no connections but still I matched at a small community hospital in FM. (I have a green card).