Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

Passed- my experience  

• 0/5

Author7 Posts

Did Oasis trick today and learnt that I have passed. Thank God. The painful wait is over. Let me share some of my experience for the benefit future exam takers and also those who have taken it and anxiously awaiting for the results.
Let me give a profile of myself so that people can compare themselves. It is no point saying that I read in just 7 days without mentioning what I am made of! I am a post- graduate in Pediatrics and am ‘considered’ generally as a “bright” student by many. Working in India with no US exposure. Speaks normal Indian English and can usually understand 50% of dialogues in the English movies! I got 99 in both steps.

I prepared for CS for one full month; mostly in the evening after the hospital hours except on holidays when I use to sit the whole day. I read through the USMLE world notes at least 3 times and first aid twice. A week before the exam I practiced nearly 90% of cases with my wife. I had not practiced the telephone case (which was a mistake as the telephone case is not as easy especially for understanding the accent through phone). I was in US for 4 days before the exam so that I can learn the usual way people in US interact and communicate. It is important I guess!