Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

Very Basic Physiology  

• 0/5

Author13 Posts

The Q and A here looks pretty advanced. I am just now starting my second semester of physiology and need all the help I can get. I am a non-traditional student (which means "old," although I was pretty non-traditional when I was young, too), returning to school to get a second degree, that is, one that will actually help me find employment. My first degree was a BFA, which did not require any science to speak of, so everything is brand new to me, making the courses fascinating but daunting.

Am I at too elementary a level for this group?

Thanks.

I am working on the first case study of the year, involving a young, non-compliant type 1 diabetic in a coma. I have concluded he is suffering from ketoacidosis. The question is: what is the cause of his dyspnea, hypotension and tachycardia?

I am guessing that osmotic diuresis has caused a reduction in blood volume and that all three symptoms are the result: the low b/p < low blood volume, the tachycardia and dyspnea result from the lessened oxygen carrying capacity resulting from less blood. Obviously, I'm a little vague. Am I on the right track? If so, is there more? Thanks.

You seem to be on the right track:

As you say hypotension and tachycardia could be related to profound fluid and electrolyte loss.
That dyspnea we call" Kaussmaul respiration" (rapid deep breathing) which decrease CO2 and bicarbonate in extreme circumstances.
Symptoms in DKA will be similar to high anion gap metabolic acidosis.

Thanks, MJL1717,

I was with you, more or less, up until that last sentence. I have no idea what anion gap acidosis is. Like I said, I'm a true newbie. But I'm eager to learn. I appreciate the help.

Hello JohnFMayer,

Anion gap metabolic acidosis is basically adding up all your positive charges and subtracting your negative charges from it...

(Na)-(Cl-HCO3)