Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

easy residencies to consider  

• 0/5

Author18 Posts

I was thinking last night (Rare event since I am studying for step II now), but everyone talks about IM and no one talks about other easy residencies to get. So I will mention them, just in case people don't know about them. Most of these are made up mostly of IMGs at all but the very best schools, and they are more likely to consider people with visa issues (if the school itself allows).

Family Practice (this one has many US grads, but also many IMGs)

Pediatrics (easier than IM)

Psychiatry (you would think not knowing US culture would hurt you, but not true. I knew a guy from Yemen who could barely speak English and got a residency in this at a school which for IM doens't even take applications from IMGs)

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (many many IMGs even at the best schoools)

Pathology (makes lots of money if you don't mind sitting in front of a scope all day long)

Nuclear medicine

Neurology (but have to get med prelim first)

Hope these help ..... Remember, any US training is great. You can start one of these and try to switch after 1 year! I know IMGs who have gotten Dermatology, Ophthal, Ortho that way.

Good idea for switching.I agree even 1 yr preliminary is better than doing nothing .Good chances in future to get into subject of choice.

yeh i heard that its easier to get into peds and psychiatry.

Thanks!I am IMG and I would like to get Physical medicine .Also I'm interested in Dermatology and Ophtalmology.Do you know which hospital is IMG friendly fot that field?I don't have Us medical experience and most Physical Medicine programs require 1year GME.They conduct interview for 2006.Do they give me that 1 year before PGY 2 in residency if they want me ?

Hi retroviridae,