Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

Very Old IMG's  

• 100/5

Author300 Posts

hi drpou77

applicant guide wont tell u the observership list for free.  he will ask u to buy the book.

i tried this already .

Hi there, is 34 consider very old?? Then I must have forgot that I'm that old. haha...
I'm studying for step 1. finish kaplan notes and firt aid. try to read for the second time. anybody interest to review together with skype?

hi planters,
hope everything is going on well with your studies.
If thats the case then ,forget it.

all the best to you with your studies

hey did u received my message in ur inbox?

hi momwontgiveup,

sorry my title for this page is misleading ,34 is not old at all ,we are at the begining of life at that,its just that i call this very old IMG is just from year of grad.
mine was 2001 so its more than 10yrs out of med,thats why.
But hey i have read here that there were even people @50yrs of age with 15-17 Yrs from grads still able to make it for residency so we are better off

sure,PM me about the time and how you want to do it
goodluck with your studies

I was not aiming high since I was (and am) very busy with full-time work, kids, wife, etc... I am not a good example of a good student (I used to be when I had nothing else todo but study).

This is what I did:

1. Watched all kaplan videos for Anat and Path ONLY
2. Read Kaplan notes: Anat, Pharm, Biochem, Pathology ONLY
3. Answered a lot of questions in USMLE World, USMLERx (not all of them).
4. Took all NBME self-assessments
5. Prayed a lot
6. Avoided reading from full-time students who got 99 in their tests because they have read the books and watch all the videos 3 times and answered the QBanks twice, etc. which I could not do.

My score was less that average, but it was all I could do, and I am good with that.

hey thanks for replying drTico