Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

242/99  

• 100/5

Author7 Posts

Yeah so I just took the Step 2 CK in mid-September. First of all, I got only an hour of sleep the night before so I was very tired, but somehow the body physiology worked wonders for me and gave me the surge of Adrenaline that I needed. One more thing, I am a Surgeon at heart and Surgeons don’t give up! so this attitude pushed me through the test. I just imagined myself scrubbing into a case in the middle of the night to save a trauma patient's life.
So for people who dont get their sleep the night before the test, this should be a motivation for you. If I can do it, so can you.

Length of my prep: 2 months on and off. I had my rotations going on.
Resources that I used:
Internal Medicine : Step-Up to Medicine- Read it once cover to cover. Best book for Medicine. It has everything you need but I must emphasize; every word in it is important.
Obstetrics and Gynecology: First Aid for Obstetrics and Gynecology-Read it once cover to cover.
Pediatrics : Used First Aid for CK and First Aid for the Pediatric Clerkship (as a quick reference).
Surgery: Did not read anything. Just relied on my Clinical experience from my rotations and did Uworld Questions. I was doing really well on Uworld on Surgery. Learned every word from the explanations in Uworld especially focusing on physical exam findings. Surgery as a specialty focuses a lot on the physical exam! Surgery questions are very trauma, GI and Orthopaedic oriented so these areas are what I focused my studying on.
Psychiatry and Biostats/Epidemiology; USMLE Step 2 Secrets and ofcourse learning from Uworld questions. I have an MPH degree and my publichealth background helped me with the Biostats. For Psychiatry, I just relied on my Step 1 Knowledge and this helped me a lot.