Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

Advice!!!  

• 0/5

Author15 Posts

Hi everyone,

I'm an IMG, Grad 2003, USMLE 80/91/pass all with several attemps, ECFMG certification,

3 US LOR, 1US LOR from GI/Research at University of Chicago, 4 abstracts about colon cancer,

1y observership in ER, 2 hands-on clinical experiences in two private offices, and I'm studying for step 3.

Do I have a chance in Pathology?

Thanks

Unfortunately you will have a hard time matching at most programs. Your best chance is to apply to some of the least competitive community programs.

Thanks Joelpi

Can you tell me why? or if I can do something to increase my chances.

I appreciate

IMG with several attempts on the steps? Why observership in EM when you want to do path?

When I came tothe US I didn't speak English and the only connection that I had was aa very nice EM doctor who spoke a little bit Italian. That why EM. I wanted to do IM so when my English improved I did the externships in Oncology and Family. One year ago I moved to Chicago bc I had the opportunity to do colon cancer research. My responsability in the Lab is immunostaining,immunofluorescence and laser capture microdissection. Spending most of my time in the Pathology Department I have realized that I like Path.

Thats my story!

So basically you were "searching for yourself"? That is OK, but what is going to hurt you are your USMLE stats (several attempts in particular). Actually, for path, you don't necessarily need LORs attesting to your clinical expertise. Maybe you should try to do an observership in a Path dept - clinical part with previews/signouts. That would matter, especially if you could do it at UChicago - they have great Path dept. Also, do Step 3 ASAP and try to ACE it. Any publications beyond the abstracts? GL

Hey Dario, I'm applying for pathology next year and, btw, I'm Italian too and I'm a 2003 graduate! Where did you go to med school?