Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

radio resident from india...help needed  

• 0/5

Author12 Posts

Hi i am a first year mdrd resident from india.I am interested in doing radiology residency from us after my graduation.can anybody help me how to go about it..as i habve heard radio is very competitive.I also want to have contact with others who are pursuing same ..so i can have timely advice.nod

see many radiologists get radio fellowships in USA if they have done 3 years degree program, if your is diploma then I'm not sure. if you want to do radio residency in USA then

1. you need very good scores atleast 95+(sorry to sound harsh but the fact of the matter is these days even AMGs applying to radio have 99, 99, so its difficult for FMGs)

2. spend 1 year doing research in an FMG friendly program, pros are they can give you good LORs, and your chances of matching to the same program are higher.

3. keep a back up. like IM, nuc med, peds, whatever.

4. If you have GC OR CITIZENSHIP THEN YOU ARE IN RELATIVELY FAVORABLE POSITION.

Thanks priya for advice.

I am an md resident which is of3 yr duration.Is it possible that i first join some fellowship than get some lor and than apply for different programs.You see my priority is to residency there.

and also i wanna know if during fellowship stipend is provided or ihave to sponsor myself?

You're welcome!

Had I been you I will go for fellowship and then eventually ABR certification. it has some requirements like

you have to do 4 years at one institution and have to clear American Radiology boards, bottomline is you can bypass the residency pathway. for more refer to http://theabr.org/DR_IMG.htm

yes you get a stipend usually PGY5, its a paid fellowship.