Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

8 weeks till exam  

• 0/5

Author5 Posts

Hi need big help out here!!!

i just did UWSA and got a predicted score of 209 {460}
also Kaplan diagnostic 62%

my goal is to score 250+ . and I was hoping to take step 1 by mid to end April but I m not sure how I can raise about 40+ points in 8 weeks. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

my weak areas are: biostats, histo, immuno, and genetics

Also, I've recently finished DIT and Kaplan Qbank which were both great resources.

ok so it seems like many of you have been just reading my post 'silently' sucks i didnt get any responses back but hey I just wanted to share this for all the 'silent readers' my most recent self assessment

NBME 13 score 470=222 { I was trying to post a picture of the score sheet but its giving me some weird error and won't let me post the jpg file }

so basically I studied hardcore for about 20 days using only Pathoma + UW + Anki

I did about 3 blocks/day under all random 'timed tutored' mode. its hard work though ! it takes me about 2 hours 30 minutes to go over a block of 44 questions because i m reading all of the explaination given. I first try to solve the problem on my own as to why the other options given aren't correct and in what scenario would they be correct. it helps me to connect dots but at first it was very hard! i've come to a conclusion that it is the best way to do UW questions though. otherwise things become redundant and you start to lose hope real quick . anyway, I improved dramatically on my weaknesses and i think i m going to stick to this method. Initially i was planning to do the step 1 by April but I think i m going to push it to May now so I can get my goal score of 250+ and its totally do-able. just need to practice practice practice!!!