Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

IMG +US plastic surgery residency  

• 0/5

Author4 Posts

As an IMG, I have recently graduated from a sought after excellent 6 year integrated plastic surgery residency in Los Angeles. I have been advising people for the past 6 years on application and life as a US plastic surgery resident. I am happy to give you advice. When I applied, I was told I was too old, foreign and my chances are slim. Don't lose heart.PM me if you want more information.

BD

Thanks bd21 for your kindly welcome and inspiring words. 8 years ago, USMLE was just in my head, but not done in real world which doesn't favor me. Now, some conditions favor me to dream for USMLE and residency in US. I am interested in internal medicine residency. Isn't it easier to get than plastic surgery. Whatever, studying is the best answer for me to reach goal.
See you in US smiling face

Timho:

Internal Medicine is less competitive because there are a lot more spots - in a typical program, there will be > 10 spots. As a result, you don't need so high a score to compete for a spot. Regardless, the USMLEs need a dedicated period of study time - I took a month off my research and spent a month in a study center. Because I had been a gap between my taking the exam and graduating medical school, I found Step 1 much harder than step 2, the latter being more clinically orientated. Step 3 was not very hard and by then, you already have a spot.

The other thing to remember is that once you have passed, you are stuck with you score - meaning you can't retake it to get a better score. Some people take a diagnostic test before. I did USMLE world to get an idea of how ready I was.

Good luck.

BD

Hi,