Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

Passed CS High Performance  

• 0/5

Author6 Posts

Hello!

I just recently got my exam results back and I passed with high performance. I thought I would share my experience because of the help that I received reading other people's exam experiences. I studied for 6 weeks using FA, Complex Cases, and csevideo. I started with the FA and went through it very quickly at first. Then I began to read it more slowly to familiarize myself with the cases. I subscribed to csevideo for one month and started going over cases and practising PN to build up my speed. I also bought a copy of the complex cases to help me a little further. After a while I began to use all of the above resources along with a study partner.

Took the exam in LA. I was very nervous the night before the exam. I barely slept. The worst part was right before the first exam because that's when it really hit me. Even though I was nervous, I just remained positive because all of the preparation I had done. For some reason when I started the exam the fear started to disappear and everything felt like it was coming naturally. I was concerned that I would be intimidated by the SP but everything turned out great. Even the ones that acted unfriendly didn't bother me. In reality though, the whole process was like a blur from the moment I began. The only thing I didn't feel I did as well on was the PN. Everything else (ICE, CIS, and SEP) I did well on and felt good about. That was my fault because I didn't devote enough time to practising my PN.

My overall impression now is that the CS is not the big scary monster I was afraid of before. It wasn't about how much I knew as much as how I interacted with the patient. Watching videos to see how it's done and working with a study partner helped me more to prepare. I just wish I had spent more time practising the PN.