Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

identification of bacteria  

• 0/5

Author6 Posts

hello everyone, i'm mary rose from the philippines. i'm still a student, currently conducting my thesis. And one of my objectives is to identify my isolates up to lowest possible level. I need an expert who could do the confirmation of my identified bacteria. Please, does someone over here can help me..

Anyway, i just did 6 biochemical testing in identifying my isolates, such as the catalase, TSI, SIM, citrate, OF, and urease test and i did the staining techniques.
unfortunately, i only wish to identify those bacteria up to genus level only..

i am hoping someone will have a kind heart in confirming my bacterial identification.. here's my email if anyone would like to communicate with me: maryrosegica@ymail.com

Thanks, everyone! God bless us all.

respectfully yours,
rose

Um, if you're a student, and doing your thesis, shouldn't you be performing your own analyses?? Just sayin'....

Hello!
I am looking to identify an unkown bacteria for my class also.... I am just an undergraduate student taking a introduction class to microbiology. I don't know where to begin, but I do know I would like some general direction. Is there some sort of program that I can plug in my results and it can give me a few options?
I found one site, but it didn't seem accurate....
Thank you.

Make a Gram stain from a fresh plate. Don't use an old plate because it won't give you accurate results (fresh = 18-24 hour old isolate on non-selective medium like TSA or TSA with 5% sheep blood).