Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

Passed, Philadelphia  

• 100/5

Author5 Posts

So I haven't posted in a while but wanted to give my results in CS. I am an Carribean med student, presently 4th year. I set up with a study partner and we practiced for 3 weekends before our scheduled test. We used the FA CS book and took turns being the patient and the doc. We used a timer the last weekend to get everything perfected.

My test was in the evening and there weren't any zebra cases..all striaght forward complaints. I forgot to wash my hands in one case and said something really stupid in another. A patient was married and only occassionally using condoms but not trying to conceive....I responded "Well if you do not wish to conceive and you're using condoms irregularly then that's a gauranteed way to get pregnant. (internal dialog WTF did I say that???)

I received my highest scores in communication and rapport and a little borderline in notes and data gathering. I will be back later to answer questions but have to return to rotations now. smiling face

OKay so now I have more time to go into detail.

I started each exam by reading the info on the door and before walking in tried to think of differentials and what questions I needed to ask. So if it was a child I immediately thought of the pneumonic BINDERS. If it was someone who was "tired" I would write SIG E CAPS on the top of my paper to remind myself to check for depression.