Prep for USMLEPrep for USMLE
         Forum      |     Resources New Posts   |   Register   |   Login

"OLD IMGs"...pls gather here  

• 0/5

Author84 Posts

Hi all "old IMGs" out there.. This is to any OLD IMG who's applying this yr..and to all those who applied and got positions last ...we need your advice badly..

Is this process of looking for programs to apply to frustrating and depressing or is it just me??sad

How are u guys going about choosing programs? I look at a program's criteria, call them up and sometime I'm still undecided. The good university programs take a lot of PGY 1s but don't want any "old grads" (only a few of them say they "will consider if you have prior formal training") ..some of them want you to have at least one yr of GME training in the US..how can that possibly be? If i'm an old grad no prelim program would want me for the same reasons that these big shot university programs don't want me!!

In The smaller community-based, university affiliated programs we stand a chance...but only if they are hiring a large number of PGY 1s (i think)...what do we do??? what are u guys out there doing? Am I the only one going through this??

Someone told me not to pay attention to these criteria put by programs?? HOw could we not? If they say they want someone five yrs or less, and I am not, won't my application be filtered out from the very beginning??

Someone else told me not to apply to any program with less then10 PGY1 positions...again how could I not? SOme of these say they could be flexible about grad yr cut offs..

I am confused and depressedsad, and good scores don't seem to matter ...and I don't even want a very competitive speciality...peds..graduated in 2002....feeling awfully "old"